What's the name of the dog in chitty chitty bang bang?

The dog from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is named Edison. Edison was an Old English Sheepdog. He was named after the inventor, Thomas Edison. A nod to Thomas Edison was given when Dick Van Dyke tells the dog, "Edison, you're a genius."