Why do people set fire to sambuca?

Warmth: Setting things on fire makes them warmer, right? If you're drinking the flaming liquid on its own and not mixing it into a larger drink, lighting it is a good way to heat your drink up. When served as an after-dinner drink, Italians often light their snifters of Sambuca for a few seconds.