What is silver holloway?

The Silver Holloway is a brooch modelled on a portcullis with a conflict arrow enamelled in the Suffragette colours purple, white & green and has hanging chains. Designed by Sylvia Pankhurst, it was awarded to Women’s Social & Political Union members who had been imprisoned for militant activity.