Why do cats stick out their tongues?

It is true that if cats constantly stick out their tongue, it is likely that they are not able to close their mouth due to a possible injury on the mouth or a breathing issue such as one that is caused by a respiratory problem. If that is the case, you should have your cat seen by a veterinarian.