Who invented apps?

In 1983, however, a young Steve Jobs first envisioned the App Store, or at least a very basic version of it. Jobs imagined a place where software could be bought over phone lines. Shortly after Apple's introduction of the iPod, the iTunes store launched, acting as a precursor to the Apple App Store.