Who sang diane?

Diane was a song by Ernö Rapée and Lew Pollack and was originally written as a theme song for the 1927 silent movie Seventh Heaven. It was made popular by The Bachelors when they released it in 1964. They were the first act from the Republic of Ireland to have a number-one single in the UK charts.