Where did the term pet peeve come from?

The term pet peeve, means a particular grievance or source of annoyance, where 'pet,' meaning something is beloved or favourite. it was introduced to a wide readership in the comic strip The Little Pet Peeve in the Chicago Tribune during the period 1916 2 1920. The strip was created by Frank King