What is pete free compost?

Peat-free potting composts contain mixtures of organic materials – e.g. composted bark, woodfibre and green compost – mixed with inorganic materials such as grit, sharp sand, rock wool and perlite. Because peat is a greenhouse gas emitter, the peat free variant is better for the environment