Is pizza a pie?

A pie is a baked dish, typically with a top and base of pastry. Pizza is made from dough, and not pastry, and there is no "lid" on a pizza. Pizza is not a pie. However, there is a pizza pie which looks like and is baked like a pie. It has no lid and is very deep.