Where does the expression sleep tight come from?

It is said that the phrase dates back to the time when people slept on beds made of rope. If the ropes were pulled tight, then it would be more comfortable to sleep on. When your house guest had overstayed their welcome, the ropes would be loosened in the hopes that they would vacate your home.