Why is the nutcracker called the nutcracker?

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's ballet The Nutcracker, based on a story by E. T. A. Hoffmann, derives its name from this festive holiday decoration. The carving of nutcrackers as well as of religious figures and of cribs developed as a cottage industry in forested rural areas of Germany.