What does to poppy manual mean?

The "Poppy Manual" is the manual for the Royal Canadian Legion Remembrance Poppy Campaign. It gives rules, guidance and information for planning, organizing and running the Poppy Campaign". It also proscribes how funds may or may not be used. Probably, to 'poppy manual' is to 'do it by the book'.