What do they call the outer wall of a castle?

A curtain wall surrounds a Motte-and-Bailey castle. The Bailey is the area enclosed by the curtain wall. The Motte is the hill or mound on which the castle Keep stands. A lesser wooden wall surrounding a fortification is a Palisade.