Where does the sun shine?

Where the sun shines depends on the extent of the daytime cloud cover. Some places receive more than 4,000 hours per year of sunlight (more than 90 percent of the maximum possible), like the Sahara; others receive less than 2,000 hours, like regions of frequent storminess, like Scotland and Iceland.