How does a pufferfish puff up?

Pufferfish inflate by rapidly pumping water, and occasionally air, into their flexible stomach. When threatened, they expand to several times their normal size to deter predators. Most pufferfish contain the neurotoxin tetrodotoxin. 1200 times more poisonous than cyanide; there is no known antidote.