What's fish and chips?

Fish and chips is a favourite British meal consisting of chipped potatoes, fried in oil, and fish, usually cod, deep fried in batter. Often served with mushy peas, and seasoned with vinegar and salt, the meal tends to be bought from dedicated shops and comes wrapped in layers of paper.