What does l. mean?

Lowercase l. can mean a number of things. 'l' is the 12th letter of the English alphabet. When used after a quantity of liquid it means a litre, e.g. 1l of milk. 'L' is also the 12th letter of both the Roman and Latin alphabet. A capital 'L' is used to denote 50 in Roman numerals.