What is the difference between a standing ovr and a direct debit?

In UK banking a Standing Order is an instruction you give to your bank to pay a certain amount to someone normally at regular intervals. A Direct Debit is where you give authorisation to someone or a company to take money from your bank account again usually at set intervals.