How do you know if a pigeon is a boy or a girl?

Look at the size of the pigeon. Male pigeons are usually larger than females. Take note of when a pigeon sits on its eggs, if eggs are present. Typically, a male pigeon will sit on the nest in the morning, until around mid-afternoon. Female pigeons take over nest tending later in the day.