Where do rhododendrons come from?

Rhododendrons originate mainly from the Himalayas, where about 600 different Rhododendron species are found. These range from those in the tender section at lower elevations around 2500 metres, to large-leaved species with massive leaves up to 75cm long, which grow in conifer forests at 3000 metres.