What is the difference between pepperoni and salami?

Pepperoni is spicier than salami and also has a more fine-grained texture whereas salami is more chunky. However, salami is more versatile than pepperoni and can be used in cold and hot dishes, whereas pepperoni is most commonly only used to top pizzas.