When was the middle finger invented?

Modern Western cultures use the "middle finger" gesture as an obscene statement of extreme contempt for the person who is the target of the gesture. Historically, it represented a phallus. The gesture dates back to ancient Greek and Roman times but increased in use during the early 1800's.