What is melon sugar?

"Watermelon Sugar" is a song by English singer Harry Styles from his second studio album Fine Line (2019), Inspired by the American novel In Watermelon Sugar (1968) by Richard Brautigan. "Watermelon Sugar" is a horn and guitar-driven rock, funk-pop, indie pop song.