What are gatherers in fortnite battle royale?

Gorgers spawn smaller robots called Gatherers. Both robots will shoot beams of energy at you, although the Gorger's weapons are far stronger and will take you out if you're not careful. The Gorger will continue to spawn Gatherers until it's destroyed.