How rare is a maine coon?

The Maine Coon breed was rare in the 1950s when they went out of style and almost went extinct. However, after the breed became the official state cat of Maine, its popularity soared, and it made a comeback in 1985. Today, Maine Coons are so popular that they are no longer considered rare.