What does kaw-liga to mean?

The song tells the story of a wooden Indian, Kaw-Liga, who falls in love with an "Indian maid over in the antique store" but does not tell her so, being, as the lyrics say: Too stubborn to ever show a sign, Because his heart was made of knotty pine.