Tell me about hawaii?

Hawaii is one of a few U.S. states to have once been an independent nation, it is located in the Pacific Ocean about 2,000 miles from the U.S. mainland. Two-thirds of the population lives on O'ahu, home to the state's capital and largest city, Honolulu.