Is garlic a herb?

Though widely used as an herb or spice, garlic is botanically a vegetable. It offers a variety of health benefits and is a particularly pungent ingredient sure to spice up your favorite dish. Unlike other vegetables, it's less commonly cooked on its own or eaten whole.