Why is a water biscuit called a water biscuit?

A water biscuit or water cracker is a type of biscuit or cracker. They are thin, hard and brittle and made from just flour and water. Originally produced in the 19th century as a version of the ship's biscuit baked multiple times to help give them a long shelf life.