Who is even battutah?

Ibn Battuta lived from 1304 to about 1369. He was a Muslim Berber - Moroccan scholar, jurist and explorer from Tangier in Morocco. He travelled the Old World, largely in the lands of Dar al-Islam, travelling more than any other explorer in pre-modern history, totaling around 117,000 km