When were plasters invented?

Dr. John Maynard advanced the idea in 1848. His plaster involved taking fluid derived from gun cotton (explosive, highly nitrated nitrocellulose) dissolved in sulfuric ether (regular, diethyl ether in modern parlance) and brushing it on the skin. Then you covered it with cotton strips.