Is the earth getting closer to the sun?

The Earth migrates away from the Sun at approximately 1.5 centimeters per year. The Sun's mass loss, by burning its nuclear fuel, ensures that every mass orbiting in our Solar System is slowly spiraling outward as time goes on.