Is mayonnaise a sauce?

Mayonnaise, informally mayo, is a thick cold sauce or dressing commonly used in sandwiches, hamburgers, composed salads, and on French fries. It also forms the base for many other sauces, such as tartar sauce, fry sauce, remoulade, salsa golf and rouille.