Are dogs allowed on whitby beach?

There are seasonal restrictions on Whitby West Cliff beach. Dogs are not allowed from the West Pier to the East side of the beach steps from the beginning of May to the end of September. There are signs and pavement stencils clearly identifying restricted areas.