How powerful is herobrine?

Herobrine is a dangerous and powerful ghostly individual in MineCraft. He is often seen staring from behind cover or from a distance. He gradually gets closer as he is able to teleport behind the player and destroy bases and send the player to an endless void. He can only be seen on recorded footage