How many different types of horses are there?

Oklahoma State University lists 217 separate breeds of horses. "The Encyclopedia of the Horse", by Elwyn Hartley Edwards, lists over 150 breeds (some are extinct). Wikipedia lists 358 breeds. Authorities do not all agree on how many breeds exist.