What are galley gaskins?

Galligaskins are hose, or breeches, worn from the late 16th century. These were originally made from leather, and worn under, armour. Later they would also be made from cloth and worn as everyday male clothing. In the English language the word is spelt, G,A,L,L,I,G,A,S,K,I,N,S, Galligaskins.