What are thunder flies?

Thrips are sometimes known as thunderflies or thunderbugs. There are over 3000 recorded species worldwide, with over 150 in the UK. They are typically small, slender, dark-coloured insects about 2mm long or less and usually have two pairs of feather-like wings.