What's the biggest shark ever recorded?

The largest shark ever recorded was a whale shark at a whopping 66 feet (20 m) long and weighing 46 tons (42 metric tons), according to the Zoological Society of London. Whale sharks live in tropical and warm temperate oceans around the world, except for the Mediterranean Sea.