What is the tory whip?

Members of parliament (or MPs) in the Conservative party (also known as the Tory party) who keep discipline, guide and encourage colleagues to vote in line with the party’s objectives and not following their own personal ideologies. If the whip is withdrawn, the MP has lost the respect of the party.