When was peter sutcliffe caught?

Although Sutcliffe was arrested on 2 January 1981 it was several days before the driver was revealed to be the deadly serial killer. He was found in a car in the tree-lined Melbourne Avenue in Sheffield with 24-year-old prostitute Olivia Reivers