What is the fastest mile ran?

Hicham El Guerrouj, of Morocco, is the current world record holder, for running a mile. His record was set in 1999, with a time of 3 minutes 43seconds and 13 hundredths of a second. Historically, Britain’s Roger Bannister, was the first to break the ‘4 minute mile’ barrier, on the 6th May, 1954.