Why is fluorine a gas at room temperature?

In fluorine, the electrons are tightly held to the nuclei. The electrons have little chance to wander to one side of the molecule, so the London dispersion forces are relatively weak. At a low enough temperature the molecules will all be solids. At a high enough temperature they will all be gases.