Why was there a crisis in cuba in nineteen sixty two?

The Cuban crisis happened when Russian nuclear missiles were detected being shipped to Cuba. President Kennedy warned the Russians to turn back or face a possible nuclear war. The Russians backed off. Their original reason was a response to the USA placing nuclear missiles in Turkey, close to Russia