Why did oliver cromwell cancel christmas?

It is a common myth that Cromwell abolished Christmas, but it is based on a misunderstanding. It was the devoutly religious and parliamentarian party, working through the elected parliament, which during the 1640s clamped down on the celebration of Christmas and other saints' days.