What does the word a. f. f. e. c. t. mean?

Affect is a verb. “to affect”, meaning to have an impact on something. Effect is the noun “an effect (a positive or a negative effect) is the result of being affected by something. There is also a verb “to effect”, which means to bring something about “to effect a change”.