Why did edward jenner face opposition?

Edward Jenner, who injected cowpox to stop smallpox, was distrusted by people who thought that vaccinations using animal disease was unchristian, or that it wouldn't work because they thought smallpox came from decaying matter in the atmosphere. Also, vaccinations were more painful in those days.