Who is the first ruler of england?

The first King of England was King Alfred (c. 866 AD), however this is disputed because Alfred was only ruler of Wessex, a kingdom that consisted of most of the South and South-West lands of Modern Day England. The first Crowned King of England is William I in 1066.