When did the original animal crossing come out?

The first Animal Crossing game was released on Nintendo 64 for Japan only, on April 14 2001, as Dōbutsu no Mori. It was then released as Dōbutsu no Mori+ on Gamecube for Japan in December 2001, North America in September 2002, Australasia in October 2003, and Europe in September 2004.