Why was lady jane gray only queen for nine days?

Lady Jane Grey was nominated by Edward VI to succeed him as they were both Protestant, despite his sister Mary, who was Catholic, being next in line. This led to a revolt that overthrew Jane and put Mary on the throne 9 days after Edward’s death.